Week One

After about three weeks of thinking about it and one week of preparing my house, I have officially started the Whole30. My dreams of spending my Saturday food-prepping went out the window when I woke up nursing a massive hangover that sapped my energy for anything other than lying horizontal yesterday. On the bright side, I’m doubly excited about the prospect of going booze-free for a month. I’m looking forward to reclaiming my lost Saturdays for productive and fruitful errand running, laundry doing, gym attending and preparing for the upcoming week in a way that does not include a Netflix binge.

I did manage to make my clarified butter last night, which will allow me to roast my chicken tonight, and basically cook anything else for the week. I also made my mayo – not 100% perfectly, as I added the lemon juice at the beginning and wasn’t able to find mustard powder, but overall I think it went over well. I hardboiled a dozen eggs, and washed all my veggies in preparation for the week. I made my usual salad for lunch, though sans chickpeas, corn, black beans and feta cheese. I mixed up a batch of protein salad using tuna fish and mayo. I’ll skip the gym this evening so I can get on top of the rest of the food prep I was supposed to do yesterday, and hopefully be back on track tomorrow (dying to make the spinach frittata!).

IMG_1598

One-person refrigerator packed with one week’s worth of food. A lot of this ended up going bad. Lesson learned.

I knew the day was a success when I was able to successfully abstain from a department “breakfast” full of hummus, mutabal, labaneh and pita bread. I munched on the picked veggies and some stray arugula garnish. I think the hardest part for me won’t be what I can’t eat, but the effort required to make all of the foods on my menu. I am very low maintenance in the kitchen and as I live alone and cooking for one is quite a lot of effort, I usually go with simple dinners. I’m taking on a double challenge, as I’ll be learning to cook in addition to eating a bit differently.

IMG_1592

Typical Arabic fare. Fried, bread, beans, oil.

IMG_1637

Bread. Bread. Bread. (This was brought in by a colleague from Jerusalem, where it is famously amazing)

18 January, 2016: Day 2

I took my “before” photos and measurements this morning, as I ran out of time before work yesterday. I nearly cried. I can’t wait to see changes in my body as a result of this and my new weight routine. I have always carried spare pounds in my stomach; my legs are consistently well defined, skinny and muscular, and my arms, while not my favorite feature, are relatively strong as well. I also have a larger than usual rib cage, which has been a source of distress for me since I was 15 and 117 lbs. At my skinniest, I always felt fat because of the rib cage (it gives me an awkward profile and back fat), so this is a constant battle I have with my self-image. I’ve learned, looking back over the rare photo that does exist of me in a bathing suit back then, that it wasn’t as bad as I thought. What I would give to go back to that body! However, it’s become harder and harder to lose the “spare tire” over the years, and I am looking forward to how this elimination diet will affect my body composition.  I wouldn’t be upset if my boobs got a bit smaller as a result of this, either.

[Note: For the purposes of sharing this more broadly, I took out the “before” pics. I’m just not ready to share these pictures. Maybe once I’ve made some more progress.. I do have one side by side comparison at the end, though!]

Around midday, I developed a pretty dull headache that stuck with me for the rest of the day. The book warned this might happen, as a sign of withdrawal from sugar and carbs. To be honest, I really feel like my diet is very healthy overall, but I guess there is more “sneaky” sugar in my diet than I thought, and maybe carbs (of which I eat daily, but again, not to excess) are a bigger culprit than I knew. I did drink at least 5 liters over the course of the day, and managed to get in a workout.

I am a bit worried that I overbought/over-prepped, as I am eating for 1, and many of these meals are portioned for 2, with leftovers. I worry that some of my produce will go bad before I get around to eating it this week, but that will be a good lesson learned. I had hoped to get away from grocery shopping several times a week, but that might be the prudent thing to do, at least when it comes to fresh veggies and fruits.

IMG_7234

One day’s worth of breakfast, lunch and pre/post workout snacks

19 January, 2016: Day 3

Getting up this morning was a serious challenge. I snoozed for 45 minutes. I find my breakfasts are much more filing than usual, and I’m not starving before late lunch-time, which is a nice change. My headache is mostly gone.

12523108_872515340421_3902160997602983607_n

20 January, 2016: Day 4

Today was a hard day, but I think it had to do with the attempted break in at my apartment last night. I heard someone picking the lock of my front door around 10pm, and the ensuing interactions with my landlord lasted until about 11. After that, my adrenalin was surging, and I was not able to sleep until after midnight. As a result, I was extra exhausted in the morning, and had to deal with the added stress of getting my locks changed, filing a police report, etc… I found that I was wiped out by the evening, and fell into bed (at a friend’s house) and slept like a rock. Again, this might have been as a result of the adrenalin, and not the Whole30. I was proud of myself though; despite the mix-up in my schedule, I ate dinner before I left, and packed ingredients for breakfast (a tablespoon of clarified butter included!) and had my lunch and post-workout snack packed for the following day.

I’ve found that my favorite meal of the day is breakfast; I really enjoy how this has gotten me thinking outside the traditional breakfast template of scrambled or hardboiled eggs, which might be nutritionally sound, but are less satisfying. I like the permission to eat a bit more during breakfast, and have found it keeps me satisfied, not even thinking about eating again until 12:30 or 1, and I don’t actually eat my lunch until closer to 2. Since I get to the gym around 4/4:30, this often means I do not need to eat pre-workout.

IMG_7242

21 January, 2016: Day 5

After a full, solid 9 hours of sleep, I didn’t feel any more rested than usual.. hoping that improves! Again, I had a repeat of the amazing salmon/kale/fried egg combination from yesterday. I’ve found I haven’t stuck to the meal template that I initially purchased food for, for a few reasons:

  • I bought ingredients for 2 people, despite cooking for 1. This means I have more than 1 meal leftover
  • When I roasted my chicken in order to make bone broth, I neglected to think about all of the chicken that needs to be eaten. I had already made a protein salad with tuna fish, so I had double protein that needed to be eaten
  • I have, despite my best efforts, not been able to find butternut squash. I have seen and eaten it while in Jordan, but they are intermittently available at the grocery store, and sometimes it takes trips to multiple stores to track down all the ingredients. Anyway, I haven’t prioritized it yet
  • I have found that the lunch I formerly brought everyday has not changed (though it is minus cheese and chick peas/black beans!). I have in the past, altered the protein on top of the salad, and have no problem doing the same here. I don’t feel bored. However, now that I have a better idea of how many groceries I need, I will be able to buy better next week to avoid waste

I feel like I am eating TOO MUCH actually, sometimes. Not in that I feel like I’m bursting full, but that three filling, complete meals is a bit foreign to be. But I know the book says to power through this part these first couple of weeks, and that it’s all important to this restart. Additionally, I haven’t been as tempted to snack as I used to be.

IMG_7243

We have received warnings of a snowstorm with the potential to cripple the city for several days (think Atlanta when it snows… 1 plow, no one has snow tires, etc…) so we’ve been advised to stock up on food and water for 7 days. I will make sure to have enough frozen meat and veggies to get me through if required!

One issue, that I am embarrassed to write about, but that I think is probably worth noting, is that I have been less “regular” than usual [I have a friend who calls it “taking a meeting.” Let’s go with that]. I tend to “take a meeting” numerous times a day – to different results – but very consistently in the morning and after each meal. I have been finding that when I do “take a meeting”, it’s very solid, and it’s not as consistently happening after meals. This may have something to do with the beans I usually have on my salad, but even after eating a full serving of cabbage, I don’t feel the compulsion I usually do.. I’m not sure if this is good or bad.. remains to be seen, I guess!!

22 January, 2016: Day 6

I was incredibly tired today, even after 8 hours sleep. I couldn’t make it to the gym in advance of my facial (at the gym spa) as planned, so rolled out of bed in time to make breakfast and head to lay down again on the facial table for another hour. Spent the rest of the afternoon unpacking in my apartment, and laid down on the couch at 6:30pm, waiting for a respectable bedtime. This is right on track with the book’s prediction that today is the “I just want a nap” day. Made my both broth though!

IMG_7245

 

23 January, 2016: Day 7

Somehow I regressed today to the “Eat All the Things” day, which I didn’t have earlier in the week as predicted. I did my gym run after making this glorious spinach frittata and headed out in the afternoon for a quick IKEA and grocery shopping trip.As I walked out the door, it started to pour down rain, and I mused that all I wanted to do in this weather was curl up on the couch with a big bowl of popcorn and a movie. Thank goodness I removed the popcorn from my apartment before starting this! IKEA was even more difficult, as we’ve made it a habit to get their hot dogs whenever we go, and their food court is always super tempting [I realized afterwards that the IKEA chicken and meatballs are Whole30 compliant, so bought a couple of frozen bags to enjoy at home]. Heading to the grocery store afterwards was an exercise in self-control. The bakery was cooking fresh bread, there was pizza in the ovens in the prepared foods section, and a local sushi restaurant was giving out free samples in the cheese section. I wanted to die. I know the book differentiates between cravings and hunger, and said that most cravings last between 2-3 minutes.. but honestly, I’m STILL thinking about that pizza.

A huge snow storm has been predicted (synching up with Jonas, which just rocked the east coast), and the supermarket was pre-apocalyptic. I’m meant to be flying to Lebanon for a work trip on Tuesday, but in the event that my flight is canceled and I’m snowed in, I wanted to make sure I had plenty of options to get me through more than just 3 days. Therefore, I bought a lot of meat that was already, or could be frozen, such as ground beef, individual portions of vacuum-sealed salmon and tuna steaks, and of course, the IKEA chicken and meatballs. I also stocked up on butter if I run out of cooking fat, and have a whole chicken in the freezer to roast and prepare new stock, should conditions become so dire.  It should get me through in a pinch, and I have enough veggies to get me through to Tuesday.

IMG_1629

Slim pickins at the butcher counter!!

Leave a Reply

